info Innwa was also known as Ava in the ancient times. It is a city in the Mandalay Division of Myanmar, situated just to the south of Amarapura on the Ayeyarwady River. It is also called Ratnapura meaning "City of Gems".
Innwa was the capital of Myanamr from 1364-1841. Prior to this, Sagaing had been the capital, but after Sagaing fell to the Shan, the court moved across the river to Innwa. The kings of Innwa set about restoring Burmese supremacy, which had disintegrated after the fall of Bagan.
monetization_on No entry fees
watch_later Operation hours: n.a
hourglass_full Time needed: Approximately 2 hour
Easygoing onlookers would never figure that the tranquil horticultural scene of current Inwa filled in as the illustrious capital of Myanmar on four unique events in the vicinity of 1364 and 1841, however a voyage through this enchanting provincial zone uncovers many pieces of information about its storied past. Destinations of specific intrigue incorporate the stately teak Bagaya Kyaung cloister constructed in 1834, the block and-stucco Maha Aungmye Bonzan regal cloister going back to 1822, also, Nanmyin tower, once part of King Bagyidaw's castle. The most well known approach to see Inwa is by stallion truck, which permits guests to encounter the antiquated capital and appreciate the view at an unhurried pace.
In 1555, Innwa fell to the southern Burmese Kingdom of Taungoo, but in 1636, the king of Taungoo relocated his own capital to Innwa. In 1752, the Mon revolted against Burmese rule and sacked Innwa. A couple of years later, the founder of the new Konbaung Dynasty, Alaungpaya, crushed the Mon revolt, and after a period with Shwebo as his capital, re-established the court in Innwa.
After the British conquered Lower Myanmar, after the Second Anglo-Burmese War, Upper Myanmar was commonly called the Kingdom of Innwa. During the reign of King Bodawpaya (1781-1819), the capital was moved to nearby Amarapura. However, his successor, King Bagyidaw (1819-1837), moved the Court back to Innwa in 1823. When a tremendous earthquake caused extensive damage in 1841, Innwa was finally abandoned for Amarapura. Little remains of the ancient capital today.
Watch Tower (Nan Myint)
The Watch Tower, about 90ft (30m) high is the only masonry building left on the King Bagyidaw’s Palace built in 1822. The tower was left leaning to one side after an earthquake in 1838 but it was restored as its original structure. This is one of the Myanmar architectural styles of early 19th Century.
16 span Inwa Bridge (formerly Ava Bridge) was built by British engineers in 1934. It is both a railroad and vehicle bridge.
This is located near Inwa Bridge on the Mandalay side of the bank of Ayeyarwaddy River. It was the last fort built to defend the Mandalay capital at the Third Anglo-Myanmar War.
Innwa Mahar Myat Muni Pagoda
Yadana Hsimi Pagodas
build Year established: n.a.
place Innwa City, Mandalay
email no email
public no web site
local_taxi Estimated taxi fare: n.a.
directions_bus Bus directions: n.a.
directions_railway Circular train: n.a.
map See map below:
help_outline Get a free quotation for a Myanmar tour to visit this place.
grade Give a star-rating on this place or write a FB comment below: